New Heads of Departments and Deans get oriented

New Heads of Departments and Deans get oriented

Newly appointed heads of departments and deans attended their orientation today the 18th of April 2024. The event, held at the KABSOM Medical Students Hostel, aims to familiarize the appointees with their roles and responsibilities while providing essential insights into university governance and communication structures.

The orientation program covers a comprehensive range of topics vital for effective leadership and administration within the university setting. Among the key areas addressed were supervisor-student relations, supervision of staff in departments, office etiquette, confidentiality, protection of information, and the governance and communication structure of the university.

Mrs. Anny Katabaazi-Bwengye, Deputy Vice-Chancellor in Charge of Finance and Administration, opened the event with a presentation on the University’s governance and communication framework, setting the tone for three days of learning and collaboration. Her introductory remarks emphasized the need for good leadership and effective communication in moving the university’s mission forward, noting that at the department level, HODs frequently work on behalf of the VC. Throughout the orientation sessions, attendees engaged in interactive presentations and conversations to develop understanding and practical ideas for succeeding in their new positions.

Dr. Arinaitwe Julius presented on Research Publications and Grant Writing, Associate Prof. Denis Sekiwu presented on Research and Supervision at Kabale University, and Mr. Michael Okopa presented on Department Quality Assurance Functions.

During his presentation, Mr. Okopa, who is the Principal Quality Assurance Officer, noted that staff should construct a profile for their pupils, and asked the audience whether they were familiar with the nature of students.

The three day event runs from 18th April – to 20th April 2024 with sessions and presentations from the Directorate of ICT and the Academic Regitrar’s Department.

Share this post

Leave a Reply